Sarah Palin: How does Christ fit in?

Sarah Palin is a pro-NRA gun fanatic who likes to kill things with guns, and call it a “sport.” (Well, with any luck, she has a better aim than Dick Cheney.)

She is vehemently anti-gay.

She denies global warming.
(Well, maybe that makes sense in Alaska.)

My question: How can she call herself Christian?

I thought Christian meant that you follow the teachings of Christ. No?!
Killing things for “sport” when the commandment is Thou Shalt Not Kill

Hating two people because they love each other when the commandment is
to love one another!

Putting corporate profits above protecting the planet when the commandment
is that we be stewards of the earth

Being pro-war, when the commandment is to
hammer your swords into plowshares

Look, if you’re a biased, intolerant war-dog who likes to shoot things,
FINE, but don’t go around telling people that Jesus is your hero.

~ by christianliberal on September 1, 2008.

6 Responses to “Sarah Palin: How does Christ fit in?”

  1. I’m not saying your wrong, but can you tell me where it says she likes to kill things for sport? Seriously, I love to do my research and you can help educate me. I don’t think because someone is a member of the NRA would make them a fanatic who loves to kill for sport.
    Also, on gay rights, she has vetoed bills in Alaska that would block gay rights on more than one occasion. Actually, since governor, she has granted homosexuals the same rights as a married couples.
    Next, where did you find that she is pro-war? I never heard that anywhere and although I live in Texas, its hard to find someone who is pro-war.
    Last, as Christians, we are not to judge people who say they are Christians and question whether they are or not. We are a Christian because we all believe one thing: That Jesus died on the cross for our sins and since we believe in him, we will have eternal life. Last I checked, that was the criteria despite what other beliefs we have. Please respond, I look forward to hearing your research and further debate.

  2. THANKS, Colt, for a fair-minded response.
    Refreshing to get a response that is not hate filled vitriol.
    Ya know, it sure stings to find out I am wrong sometimes!

    Yes, did a search on Palin, and she agrees with the Dems, that the Iraq war is for oil, and she feels it’s “not worth” fighting for.
    I got the impression about shooting things and being pro-war from the tons of video footage shown on TV and the web. Such as:

    Looking at that video shows all the right wing pro-war images that I associate with the neo-cons. Lots of guns, flags, military uniforms, but – – – odd! – – – she does not seem to be the war-dog to the degree that McCain is. SO, you are right, and I had better be more conscientious about my assumptions.

    Same is true for gay rights. Wow, well, shut my mouth!

    As for being Christian (at last I have an argument here) I would say that the whole thrust of the teachings of Christ was to love your neighbor, love your enemies, be a good Samaritan. I find those ideals are denied when one condemns the gay lifestyle, fails to support universal health care, or deny any loving kindness to illegal immigrants. The “every man for himself” philosophy that so predominates the GOP platform is the exact opposite of being your brother’s keeper. MHO.

  3. I like this debate. Nice and Friendly.
    Anyway, I am a Christian and I do not support universal health care. I can explain why:
    The term universal health care refers to free health care, in most cases and I believe that that is what you are talking about. It is impossible to achieve in our economy at this point and I will post about it on my blog once I get back from the store tonight…to be continued…

  4. I think what bothers me about your descriptions of Palin are that they are overly emotional. It would sound more credible if you were just stating facts & pointing out the questions raised by them.

    To say she is “vehemently” anti-gay, for instance: what does that mean? Or “hating two people because they love eachother?” It just smacks of exaggeration. That 2nd statement is actually kind of impossible if you apply logic, actually. She’s married to someone who, presumably, she loves. Certainly they actively loved eachother, since they had a child. Do you see what I mean?

    And then the hunting thing… I’m assuming you’re a vegetarian if you’re casting stones in that direction. I’ve read horror stories about how livestock are tortured in our slaughterhouses. Really, truly horrifying things that I still cringe about when I think about them. I also know how long hunts or fishing can go in the wild, & frankly I’d have to say the latter are probably cleaner deaths. The “Thou Shalt Not Kill” referred to other people.

    Anyway, I respect your opinions & I think the discussion so far is great but I feel that you might want to rethink how you presented them in order to make your points more effectively.

    I was ambivalent about Palin until today when I received a chain letter making various accusations about her, so I’m currently searching the web to see if there is any fact involved. To be honest, the entries I’ve seen so far are either in support & state facts, or are, as you say, filled with vitriol, which loses credibility for me. I’d like to find someone with facts (real facts, not emotional accusations) against Palin, but so far it’s just been stuff like this.

    Anyway, thanks for letting me comment. Back to my search.

  5. All good points, Tina.
    I DO learn from from such replies.

  6. Well first of all there is nothing in the Bible that states you can not hunt. If you can comprehend the fact that back then there where no Mcdonalds on the corners and hunting food was the preferred why to get food. I cause you didn’t know one of the first things Hitler took away from the people of Germany was there guns. Maybe the founding fathers new a little something about staying safe as a nation when they wrote the 2nd amendment.

Leave a Reply

 
