Reading a Censored Bible?

Are you reading a censored Bible?

Did you know that in the year 325 the Nicene Council eliminated much of the Bible contents.
That council decided which books were truly “inspired” and which were not. The
accepted books became our current popular bible.

There are MANY other sources of inspired works, gospels, and recent discoveries
of ancient texts that give fuller meaning to the teachings of Christ.

There are various sources and include

1. The Apochypha – the so called missing books
of the bible ( ),
2. The recently popular Gospel of Judas ( )
3. The Dead Sea Scroll, called the Nag Hamadi library
( )

These works are important to Christians because the help explain some of the
teachings of Christ.

One example is whether or not we, like Christ, can become the “Sons of God.”
or if that title belongs to Jesus alone.
One purpose of the council was to resolve disagreements arising from within the
Church of Alexandria over the nature of Jesus in relationship to God the Father;
in particular, whether Jesus was the literal son of God or was he a figurative son,
like the other “sons of God” in the Bible. St. Alexander of Alexandria and
Athanasius claimed to take the first position; the popular presbyter Arius,
from whom the term Arianism comes, is said to have taken the second.
The council decided against the Arians overwhelmingly
(of the estimated 250–318 attendees, all but two voted against Arius.)


~ by christianliberal on August 31, 2010.

One Response to “Reading a Censored Bible?”

  1. Thank you for your comments.

    You’ve raised some common objections that are stumbling blocks for some in the culture, but they are also easily answered. Here is a brief response:

    The Bible contains 66 books (39 Old Testament and 27 New Testament) that were written under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit by approximately 40 writers on three continents over a period of about 1,600 years. From beginning to end they tell one unified story. God determined which books would be in the Bible and men discovered these books through a canonical process. Let me explain that process:

    OLD TESTAMENT: Jesus and his apostles referred to the Old Testament as Scripture and they quoted from it. Therefore, the Christian church immediately recognized the Old Testament as Scripture on their authority.

    NEW TESTAMENT: Second, the books in the New Testament were recognized by as Scripture because these books met the following criteria:
    • Inspiration: They were inspired by God
    • Apostolicity: They were written by apostles or their companions.
    • Antiquity: They came from the same time period as the Apostles (before Ad 100).
    • Catholicity: They were universally accepted as Scripture
    • Orthodoxy: They were consistent with the rest of Scripture
    THE APOCRYPHA: The word “apocrypha” means “writings of dubious authenticity,” and so these 15 books are aptly named. They were written during the intertestamental period and are not included in the canon of Scripture for numerous reasons. First, they do not claim to be inspired by God. Second, these books were written by the Jews and yet they are not included in the Hebrew Bible. Third, Jesus and his apostles did not refer to the Apocrypha as Scripture nor did they quote from it. Fourth, they are full of fiction, exaggeration, and historical errors. Last but not least, they are not always consistent with the rest of Scripture.
    THE LOST GOSPELS: The “Gospel of Judas,” the “Gospel of Thomas,” and other “lost gospels” are non-canonical books claiming to be about the life of Christ. They are not recognized as Scripture because they did not meet the criteria of Scripture. These books were pseudonymous, which means they were written by someone other than who they are named for. In other words, Judas did not write the Gospel of Judas and neither did Thomas write the Gospel of Thomas. Furthermore, these books were not written by an Apostle or a companion of an apostle because they were not written until the Second Century or later. Third, these books were not consistent with the other gospels because they were Gnostic, which means that they were not orthodox. Fourth, they were not universally accepted as Scripture. Last but not least, one of these books, “The Secret Gospel of Mark,” was forged in the 1960s with the expressed purpose of embarrassing Christians with a homoerotic Jesus.

    NAG HAMMADI LIBRARY: More Gnostic writings written after the last living Apostle, which means that they are not inspired, not apostolic, not from the same time period, not orthodox, and not recognized as Scripture. The Dead Sea Scrolls were much older writings that were found in Israel and have nothing to do with the Nag Hammadi Library, which were written in the second century or later and discovered in Egypt.

    I encourage you to read The Canon of Scripture by F.F. Bruce for a more thorough treatment on this topic.

    The Bible is the Word of God and is sufficient for all matters of life and faith.

    Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: